Aerial Assault

Published by: Sega
Developed by: Sega
Genre: Shoot'em up
Released: 1990

Aerial Assault (SMS)

Aerial Assault is a horizontal shumup for the Sega Master System. It was also released for the Game Gear. 

Aerial Assault takes place in the year 1999 where the evil organization N.A.C. has attacked all other nations and conquered them. N.A.C. also developed a power laser emitter called EL, which could be used to destroy the ozone layer. When N.A.C. achieved global dominance, only the "freedom fighter" can take them down and save the world.

The game features 5 stages, each concluding in a boss battle. Enemies include jets, choppers, submarines, jeeps, and parachute bombs. Bosses include the Vinsk, the CB-53 Bomber, "El", and two fortresses. 

Power-ups can increase or decrease the player's firepower and can be found by destroying certain enemies. 

The game has three difficulty settings, but can not be completed on the easy setting. The full game is only available when playing the normal or hard difficulties. 

Package Art and Screenshots