WWF King of the Ring

Published by: LJN
Developed by: Eastridge Technology
Genre: Sports
Released: 1993

WWF King of the Ring (NES)

WWF King of the Ring is a wrestling video game staring wrestlers from the WWF (now  called the WWE) in the early 90's. It was the last of 4 WWF games released for the NES and came out in 1993.

The game features several modes, tournament mode plays out as a eight man single elimination tournament. King of the Ring mode lets the player compete against all opponents to become the WWF Champion.

Also a singles match or tag-team match can be played in single player or two player mode. Tag matches are against each other, 2 players can not play on the same team in this title.

The game includes wrestlers Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Bret Hart, The Undertaker, The Narcissist, Lex Luger, Mr. Perfect, Razor Ramon, Shawn Michaels, Yokozuna, and Bam Bam Bigelow. The player plays an generic new wrestler who wants to become a the King of the Ring.

Each of the game's wrestlers possess the same basic moveset, consisting of punches, kicks, a body slam, a suplex, a throw, a dropkick, stomps, elbow drops, and a move off the turnbuckle. There are no signature moves. The difference in wrestlers comes from their speed, strength, and stamina attributes.

The game was also released for the GameBoy. The NES has 3 other WWF games including WWF WrestleMania, WWF Wrestlemania Challenge, and WWF WrestleMania Steel Cage Challenge.

Package Art and Screenshots