Rolling Thunder

Published by: Tengen
Developed by: Namco
Genre: Action
Released: 1988

Rolling Thunder (NES)

Rolling Thunder is the NES port of the Namco side scrolling action arcade game in which Albatross, a member of Interpol's Rolling Thunder espionage unit must save a missing female agent named Leila Blitz from a secret society named Geldra. 

The game features 10 stages and takes place four areas spread over New York. Levels include Brooklyn, Manhattan, Harlem/Queens, and the Bronx.

The action in Rolling Thunder take place on two planes that Albatross can jump between in order to access doors that hide ammo power-ups or avoid enemies. The player can only be hit twice by enemies  before losing a life. Many enemies simply run towards the player, but some can also jump between the two layers of the level, fire guns and throw grenades.

The NES version of the game features several enhancements including a password continue system, hidden bonuses, and a higher difficulty level available after completing the game.

The original arcade version of Rolling Thunder is available on many Namco Musem collections for various systems and the game is followed up by 2 sequels on the Genesis Rolling Thunder 2 and Rolling Thunder 3.

Package Art and Screenshots