After Burner

Published by: Tengen
Developed by: Sunsoft
Genre: Air Combat
Released: 1989

After Burner (NES)

After Burner is a Japanese arcade game which was developed by Sega in 1987. It is the first game in the After Burner series, and is also the 8th game designed by Yu Suzuki.

Following its original release in Japan, this game was ported to a number of other consoles and computer systems, including the Amiga, Amstrad, Atari ST, Sharp X68000, FM Towns, Commodore 64, NES, Sega Master System, PC Engine, Sega Saturn, PC, MSX and ZX Spectrum.

The NES version of the game was licensed and published by Tengen, and an unofficial black cartridge NES game.

After Burner is an arcade style aerial combat game which allows the player to control a F-14 Tomcat jet with the objective of destroying a series of enemy jets throughout 18 different stages. The jet is equipped with a machine gun and a limited set of missiles to help accomplish these missions. These weapons are replenished after the player completes a certain number of stages.

After Burner was quite successful and, as a result, was followed by 2 sequels, After Burner II and III. The franchise was dormant for a number of years following these releases until, in 2006, it was revitalized by the release of After Burner Climax - which was developed for arcades on the Sega Lindbergh hardware. Following shortly after this, in 2007, the PSP game After Burner: Black Falcon was also released as a part of this series.

RGG Says: A great 8-bit port of the arcade title.

Package Art and Screenshots